My Experience with Green Wake #2

16 Dec

greenwake2

And… I’m back. After a couple of weeks I return to write another post on Green Wake. It always seems like I have some sort of an excuse for taking so long. This time it is because I started a new job and I just don’t seem to want to rack my brain trying to think up how I am going to write a new post. I never knew staring at a computer screen all day could be tiring. Now I know. But to the point, I am back and we are taking a look at Green Wake #2.

My re-read of issue #2 is quite a bit different from issue #1. This issue did not leave me with a plethora of ideas and emotions like issue #1 did. This is not a bad thing though, and likely because I have calmed down in determining on how I am going to continue writing these posts. After the first issue, I did not know where to start. I just started writing things down and hoped for some luck that I would get something that made cohesive sense. Which, I think I did okay in doing so. However, with all that being said, this issue still did leave me with a couple of concepts.

These ideas are still about remembering the past. This whole book and Kurtis’ means for writing it, is taking a look at the past. The difference is that, instead of me getting that feeling of regret, I get the feeling about trying to forget the past. Trying to run from it. There is also a slight hint of using the past to your benefit. Remember my mention, in my previous post, of learning from your past?

Before I get into talking about the idea of looking into your past, I am going to talk about my past (wait… what?) reading experience. Now, one thing that you must know about me is that I am pretty good at remembering those stupid little details in books, movies and TV shows. While I will admit that I may not remember everything, with a little nudge I will, at the very least, remember the main part or concept. In saying all of this, there were two distinct parts in this book that I do not remember. One small little thing, and one thing that I think would have mattered but ultimately didn’t because of the early ending of the book – At least I hope I didn’t forget it mattered or that I am correct in my assumption that it would have led to something.

So, the things that I forgot about: The guys coming up to Johnny Boy’s place to get high, the part that means nothing (side note: Holy hell did Krieger kick some serious ass in this scene. Like come on… a half frog man just destroyed a junkie! Awesome!), and the little markings on the victims/all of the frogs in Green wake. Now why did I forget two tremendously cool parts? I honestly think it was because I was not quite into the story yet. I had enjoyed it, but I was not completely and utterly sold on the idea. I think the mystery of the markings would have peeked my interest a bit. I am a sucker for unexplained mysteries. This makes me believe that I would have enjoyed it enough to keep it going, but it was not the story that I made sure to go to my LSC (Local Comic Shop) for on Wednesday (for those of you that don’t know, new comics come out on Wednesdays – usually each comic is once a month), that it would soon become.

Now it is time to look at the book. This time we are going to do, what is now my least favourite trick in TV storytelling, go to the ending and work our way back. But this time I swear it is for the better (I wonder if that is how TV writers pitch those types of stories? – sorry random thought).

Morley states, “Are we punished by what we remember?” This is actually a very good question. I know personally, some of the things that I have done, I look back at the situation and I still see myself as that immature kid, or that jackass that I never thought I would be. I am punished by my memories. I feel the guilt. I feel it for people that I may have hurt; I even feel it for myself, questioning why I let myself get into that situation in the first place. Kurtis wrote, “How can we escape the reality of our guilt when we relive our darkest moments every time we close our eyes?” Like I mentioned in my previous post, while it might not be even remotely close to the same, I still have my own experiences that make me relate to this sentence. There are things that we do in life that we feel guilty for. Every time that we are reminded of that, we feel that sense of turmoil. I am going to use an old classic line, but I think that, because we do get these emotions is what makes us human. Humans are free thinking people that have morals and values. It is what we react to that defines our morals and values, and how we are as a person.

Now I don’t think what Kurtis questions is totally true. It seems to me that it is necessary to be punished by what we remember. But the punishment is up to the person. To clarify, by punishment I really mean that there are consequences. Consequences are usually taken to have a negative connotation. Sometimes it has to be, but it all depends on the situation. I finished my last post by talking about learning from past experiences. This is quite similar. It is up to you to take that punishment, or blame, that you put on yourself from past experiences use those as tools to not let something like that happen again.

This idea of letting your past and your memories punish you, is what all of the people in Green Wake are doing. Coincidently, they are also trying to run from their past. At the exact middle of the book (I know because it is where the staples are bound  ), Morley sees his dead wife and follows her. Oh, by the way there are full spoilers, so if I haven’t mentioned that before, whoops and come back when you have read it. Upon following her, there her corpse lay with what appears to be a slightly deformed baby. It should be mentioned that this is something that only Morley can see. He then states, “This is how I remember you,” followed by a couple panels later with, “I’m going to listen to her this time.” That right there is exactly what I am talking about. He dwells on the past and it weighs on him. This time, instead of running from it, he listens. This is great foreshadowing to Morley’s future, temporary escape from Green Wake.

Morley is reliving his worst memory. It is the most painful thing that he has ever endured. One of the things that I love about re-reading something is that you get the little glimpses of foreshadowing. The funny thing in this story, foreshadowing really leads into knowing the past. SPOILER – Morley’s wife died in a car accident in which he blames himself. That is why he “[listened] to her this time.” He knew something had happened and that he needed to learn from the situation that he was in.

The next panel that I want to talk about revolves around two characters. For whatever reason I can’t remember their fate in Green Wake. However Carl finds Ariel’s diary/journal/whatever you want to call it, and reads it. One person running away and one person trying to find answers. Ariel is trying to find the hidden city of Babylon in order to escape from Green Wake. Carl has just arrived and is now trying to find Ariel. I think the whole idea of running away from the memories of the past can be summed up in what is written in Ariel’s journal:

“I close my eyes and remember the way you looked at me. How much you hated me. It scared me, Carl. And even in this world away from you, all I can see is you. Will you ever forgive me, and will I be pure again in your memory?”

The whole idea of making a mistake and having hurt the one that you love is probably one of the most feared things that everyone hopes they never do. Ariel wants to escape Green Wake, she wants to escape he memories, Carl’s memories. She wants to be in a different life. One in which she is “pure” again. It is a known fact that once you break that trust, it is hard to win it back. In this case the guilt and pain that both of these people feel will not go away.

Now this is the part in the TV story where the beginning meets up with the ending. I know that it is only two issues in but it seems that the beginning caption box has an effect on me. In Morley’s flashbacks he talks about his wife’s “silhouette.” When I look at this panel and I take in my own meaning of what comes to mind with seeing a silhouette I make a connection to something in the last few pages. To be a silhouette is always something that is vast. It has that element of the unknown.

Morley says, “I want to forget you Anna. I want you to be fiction.” You are probably wondering why I have linked a silhouette and this line together. Morley wants it so bad not to be real because he doesn’t want to have to go through the pain of losing her. He wants her to be fiction so that he can go on with his life and not feel the guilt of causing her death. Anyone feeling this would likely want themselves to be fiction as well in order to not have to deal with their shame and torment. All of this relates to my idea of a silhouette. It’s unknown. Similarly to how you cannot know what life would be like if things were different. The same goes for not knowing what is going to happen in the future. All you are doing is looking at a giant shape, a giant colour by number, just hoping that you will like the picture that you spent all this time on.

That is life. You just don’t know. You have to take your experiences and go from there. If you don’t like them try and find a way that you can enjoy future moments. Have those memories that you want to remember. If you have ones that you don’t try to not let them bog you down. Don’t forget them; just don’t let them run your life. Just hope at the end of it your colour by numbers is a giant space robot that destroys some killer aliens while hurtling through space and dodging asteroids at the same time. Now that would be a kick ass life!

2 Responses to “My Experience with Green Wake #2”

  1. ed2962 December 31, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

    Interesting breakdown, Nick. I liked reading your analysis.

    • nickjfuri December 31, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

      Thanks Ed! And thanks for being my first official commenter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

