Inspirational Words – To A Kid Doing Things He Loves!

30 Apr

“It’s not about what you love… It’s about HOW you love it.”

These words rang through my head and hit be with a powerful force. I didn’t know how deafening a sentence spoken normally could actually be.

Wil Wheaton (if you don’t know who he is… shame on you and you should instantly google him!) spoke these word during a panel at the Calgary Expo. I was unable to attend due to a scheduling conflict with a photo op with Eliza Dushku – how unfortunate ;). My friends had been able to attend and could not wait to tell me about it. If I had been there, it probably would have been the highlight of my weekend instead of the Nathan Fillion Panel – again how unfortunate ;). Lucky for me, the part my friends explained to me is already online – watch down below.

This resonated with me because of where my life is currently. If you don’t know, I went to university and majored in marketing. While this is acceptable, I have realized this is not my ultimate goal. I am fortunate enough to have realized this at the age of 23 – I know many people that have waited a lot longer to realize and strive for their goals.

Wil also states that it isn’t about being famous for him. He just does what makes him happy, and is lucky enough to have been successful at it. While everyone can’t be successful, that shouldn’t stop you from doing whatever it is you love. It could be that you love reading comic books. If that is your passion, don’t let anyone take it away from you. However, for someone in my position – trying to make it as a creative either by writing, making stuff (which you will hopefully be able to see stuff soon), music, etc. – these words make me want to strive for my goals even more.

Too many times people follow money. Of course I would love to be rolling in it, but I have realized that money isn’t everything. It definitely helps… but it isn’t everything. If I can just get by by doing the things I love, I am completely okay with that.

I honestly can’t say it any better than Wil Wheaton. The only thing that I will add to it, is summarizing it the way that makes the most sense to me.

This video is a call to do what makes you HAPPYNOT what makes you money.

Now please enjoy the words of Wil Wheaton.

2 Responses to “Inspirational Words – To A Kid Doing Things He Loves!”

  1. videogameluver May 1, 2013 at 1:58 am #

    Well this is freaky…I JUST posted that video on my blog and then I see this post…o.O haha xD

    • nickjfuri May 1, 2013 at 2:25 pm #

      That’s awesome! Even though this is geared towards nerds, I think everyone should watch it. Such an amazing speech from such an amazing person.

Leave a Reply

